RSS Feed

The “Reveal”

Posted on

Craig and I were so ready for my twenty week appointment last week!  They were going to be doing the big ultrasound where they check for any malformations and find out the gender of the baby.  Craig was so excited!  He couldn’t wait to see the “live feed” of our sweet baby.  I was mostly anxious.  I was so scared that they would tell me there was some sort of malformation with our baby, but my wonderful husband assured me everything would be ok.  And it was.  Our baby is as healthy as can be.  Praise God!

Oh, and guess what else!  We are having a baby girl!  We didn’t really care too much one way or the other what we were having as long as the baby was healthy, but I knew that Craig kind of wanted a girl first.  He is over the moon excited!  So many people had told us they were 90-100% “certain” (except apparently not) we were having a boy, that Craig and I were both in shock at first.  In fact, I made the ultrasound tech take a second picture to double check.  It is definitely a girl, and I can’t wait to meet her!

After our appointment, Craig and I stopped at the store to pick up a cute little girly onesie.  MUCH to my parents’ dismay, I refused to tell them separately on the phone what we were having, and I decided they would have to skype with us that evening when they were both home from work to find out.  My mom was dying…she wanted my dad to leave work early that day, but he was unable to.  So my mom had to wait.  It. was. rough.  Yet, somehow, she made it through. 😉 We showed my parents the onesie that night one skype (my mom was shocked, as she was one of the 90%-certain-it’s-a-boy people), and then we called Craig’s parents to tell them.  What an exciting night!  Beyond that, we worked hard to mostly keep to ourselves what we were having, because we knew that we would be taking “gender announcement” pics with my parents that weekend when we saw them in Greenville.  Craig and I were heading up there for his grandfather’s 90th birthday party on Saturday, so my parents and twin brother met us for lunch on Sunday before we had to head back to Charleston.

The pictures turned out adorable, and it was awesome to get to announce to everyone on Mother’s Day what we are having.

"Daddy's Little Princess" and pink onesie

IMG_3506 IMG_3507 IMG_3513 IMG_3526

Craig and I are so excited to meet our little Hadley Elyse!  We already love her so much, and I know that love is only going to continue to grow with each passing day!  I guess it’s time to start getting our place together and baby-ready!  Everything seems so much more real now that we are beyond the halfway point, we know what we are having, and we already have a name for her…so if this doesn’t kick me into nesting mode, I don’t know what will!  I ordered a crib for our sweet Hadley this morning, so that’s a start!  Now we just have to focus on getting Craig through USMLE Step 1 (his boards exam all students have to take after their second year of medical school), and then we can really get to work!  Craig has claimed our guest room as his “boards study cave” for now, but it’s going to be looking more and more like a nursery pretty soon!  I am visiting my parents over Memorial Day this year, so we will hopefully go fabric shopping while I am up there.  I can’t wait!

2 responses »

  1. Julie Warner

    I am so excited to shop! I have a vision for the nursery and it will be a room fit for a princess!!! I can’t wait to meet princess Hadley!!!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Exciting News from the McKs… | McKinney Living

Leave a Reply

