RSS Feed

Pumpkin Spice Bread

Pumpkin Spice Bread

There is absolutely no way around it.  Fall is just not fall without pumpkin bread.

I have seen so many pumpkin bread recipes recently, and I really wasn’t sure which one to try first.  Should I choose one with chocolate chips?  What about the one with the glaze on top?  I was having a lot of trouble deciding, so I asked Craig what he thought.  He of course liked the idea of pumpkin bread that had chocolate chips and glaze, but then we thought about the fact that there are only two people living in this condo.  It takes us some time to work our way through a loaf or two of bread.  So, we decided that this time I should choose a more classic pumpkin bread recipe so that it could work for breakfast, snack-time, dessert, or really whenever, instead of being strictly a dessert bread.  It’s not that Craig and I are opposed to having desserts for breakfast or snacks, because there have been many mornings of brownies for breakfast in the McKinney Condo. 😉  However, since I was going to be making two loaves, I figured I would make something that left more options open for how we want to eat it.  We can mix it up with butter/margarine or cream cheese (not for Craig, though) or just have it plain or whatever.  It’s just more versatile, so we can eat the bread up faster and not let any of it go to waste.  Plus, by choosing a classic pumpkin bread recipe, I could try to deceive myself into thinking that I was actually being healthier.  Our bathroom scale has unfortunately had absolutely no problem informing me that this bread is not exactly a super-food, although it does taste very super!  Craig described it as having the taste of pumpkin pie, but in bread form, and I think he’s pretty spot-on with that.  It’s like all the happiest thoughts and feelings associated with autumn jumped into a loaf of bread so that I could enjoy a fall-themed party in my mouth, complete with party hats, streamers, and confetti. 🙂

Pumpkin Spice Bread

Source: Hostess (With the Mostess)

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups canned pumpkin
  • 3 cups sugar
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup vegetable/canola oil
  • 4 eggs
  • 3 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 3/4 tsp ground cloves

Directions:

Heat oven to 350.  In a large mixing bowl, combine pumpkin, sugar, water, vegetable oil, and eggs.  Beat until well mixed.  Mix the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, salt, baking powder, nutmeg, and cloves together in a separate bowl.  Stir until well combined.  Slowly add the dry ingredient mixture to the pumpkin mixture, beating until smooth.  Grease two 9x5in bread pans and dust with flour.  Evenly divide the batter between the pans.  Bake for 60-70 minutes or until toothpick inserted all the way to the middle comes out clean.  Let the bread loaves sit for 10 or so minutes before moving them to a cooling rack (unless you are like me, because I burnt my fingers in the midst of my determination to taste the heavenly smelling bread right away…it was worth it).  Serve plain, with butter, or with cream cheese.

One response »

  1. This just looks so yummy, i will definitely try it out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

