RSS Feed

Simply Luscious London Broil

Have you ever been in what I like to call a “food rut?”  I have, many times.  I just want to make the same easy meals over and over…because I know they are easy.  I could almost consider most of Craig’s and my first year of marriage one giant food rut, because I was just learning how to really cook and trying to make everything dairy-free all at once.  When I found a recipe that worked, I kept it close to my heart…and Craig’s and my stomachs.  These days, if Craig ever gives me the “you-spend-too-much-time-looking-up-recipes-and-blogging” look, I gently (sometimes not-so-gently, but I’m working on that) remind him that my newfound interest in making a dairy-free life totally tasty for any normal dairy-consuming person has vastly expanded our menu options.  😉

Cleaning out your fridge, freezer, and pantry is another really a great way to encourage new recipes and menu items.  One weekend over the summer, Craig and I were trying to make room in our freezer for some frozen vegetables I had bought at the store, when we realized that we had a London broil (actually two, because they were BoGo) that had probably been in our freezer for a few months, untouched.  We were definitely in a chicken-on-the-George-Foreman-or-pasta-and-sauce rut at the time, so we decided we needed to try something new before the london broil got freezer burned.

Craig and I had never made a London broil at that point, and we didn’t really know where to start.  I know it’s a simple, but we’re still learning to be grown-ups, so you can cut us some slack.  🙂  I began researching different recipes until I found one in the American Food section of about.com that seemed simple yet had potential to be quite palatable.

Craig and I first gave this recipe a try the night that I was making squash casserole to post for the blog.  Craig was so excited for having London broil for dinner that he jumped at the opportunity to be in charge of cooking it.  That worked out nicely, since it gave me time to work on the squash casserole and salad.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 4 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp dried rosemary
  • 2-ish lb boneless top round “London broil” steak, probably about 2 inches thick
  • 1 Tbsp freshly ground black pepper
  • salt as needed

Directions

  1. Place beef on a plate and poke both sides all over with a fork, then transfer beef to a plastic freezer/storage bag.  In a small bowl, whisk together the vinegar, olive oil, garlic, and rosemary.  Pour vinegar marinade into the storage bag with the meat.  Seal bag and refrigerate at least 5-8 hours. (About.com actually said to refrigerate it overnight, but we have yet to do that.  It’s really just a matter of the longer the steak can sit in the marinade, the better.)
  2. Turn broil on high.  Remove the London broil from the marinade and pat dry.  On both sides, salt generously and rub in the freshly ground black pepper.  Place on a broiler pan or other oven-safe pan.  Broil about 8 inches under the flame for about 6-7 minutes on each side for medium rare (internal temp around 130, but we certainly did not measure).
  3. Transfer to a plate.  To serve, cut against the grain into thin slices.

When you serve this hot right after cooking, you can top it with some juice from the pan in which it was cooking.  We made London broil again this week, this time enjoying it with some mashed potatoes and peas with mushrooms.  We have also been savoring our leftovers throughout the week, sometimes hot, sometimes cold, and sometimes in a steak sandwich (toast the bread and put mayo and/or brown mustard on it – YUM!).

2 responses »

  1. I love the term London Broil – we dont have that over here (and we’re in London)

    Reply
    • Ha! That’s so funny! Yeah, I’m really not sure how it got its name. It’s technically just a term for how to cook the meat, but the term has become so common here that people actually use it to describe that cut of beef they are buying, regardless of how they end up cooking it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

