RSS Feed

Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Pound Cake With Peanut Butter Glaze

Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Pound Cake With Peanut Butter Glaze

It’s study week!  Party time!…except not.

Study week is certainly not party time in the McCondo.  It’s boring slash stressful study-almost-nonstop time.  Nevertheless, I like to “celebrate” as many McKinney occasions as possible.  If it’s a happy occasion, celebrating with delicious food makes it even happier.  If it is a sad occasion, the celebration food makes it not quite as sad.  If it is a stressful occasion, celebrating makes it not quite as stressful…I am basically willing to use any occasion to justify making tasty food.

So Saturday night, to “celebrate” Craig’s first study week of the school year, I made a Study Week Cake, also known as chocolate chip peanut butter pound cake with peanut butter glaze.  If you’ve been reading my blog for any decent amount of time, you know that Craig and I are obsessed with anything that combines peanut butter and chocolate, so this obviously sounded AMAZING to us.  It was.  🙂

I do have to warn you though, this is a heavy, rich cake.  You will need a glass of milk or soy milk or water or a cup of coffee with this for sure.  Also, if you are a peanut butter chocolate person, like me, this is a dangerous cake to have sitting in your kitchen.  I now know from experience that this cake has absolutely no qualms about taunting you with its heavenly glaze and the chocolate chips dancing on top.

You have been warned.

Adapted From: Pixelated Crumb

Ingredients:

Cake

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter
    • Don’t use natural peanut butter unless it is the no-stir kind.
  • 1/2 cup butter, at room temperature
    • I used Fleischmann’s Unsalted Margarine
  • 3 cups granulated white sugar
  • 6 large eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

Glaze

  • 1 1/2 cups sifted powdered sugar
  • 1/4 cup milk
    • I used vanilla soy milk.
  • 1/4 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4-1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup mini or regular-sized chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Whisk together the flour, baking soda, and salt.  Set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, use an electric mixer to cream together peanut butter and butter.  Add sugar, and beat for an additional 5 minutes.  Add eggs and vanilla, and continue mixing until well combined.  Add the flour mixture, a little at a time, beating just until it is well incorporated.  Stir in the chocolate chips.
  3. Scrape batter into a well-greased bundt pan, and bake at 325 for 1hr 20 – 1hr 35min, or until knife or skewer comes out clean.*
  4. Let the cake cool for about 20 minutes before flipping onto a platter or rack to let it cool completely.
  5. In a medium bowl, whisk together powdered sugar, milk, peanut butter, vanilla, and salt.  Drizzle the glaze over the top of a cooled cake.  Sprinkle chocolate chips on top.

*Check the cake at 1hr.  If it is browning too quickly, gently lay foil over the top for the remainder of the cooking time.  Also, when you are trying to see if it is cooked all the way through, don’t just try sticking a toothpick or fork into the cake.  You want to use something that will really be able to reach all the way to the center (I just stuck my knife all the way to the bottom and then pulled it out) to check if the cake is done.  If it’s not done, let it bake longer!

This cake is fabulous!  I really loved the glaze…Yum Yum Yum!  I definitely plan to be making this cake again around the holidays…when I have more friends and family around to help me eat it!  It’s just too dangerous to be here alone with me!

Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Pound Cake with Peanut Butter Glaze

2 responses »

  1. omg, i’m going to have to make this to “celebrate” my reading week in October!

    Reply
    • My habit of “celebrating” all occasions most definitely originated in college! I think you need to keep that up in honor of me, since I no longer have papers, midterms, and finals of my own to celebrate! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

