RSS Feed

Stuffed Green Peppers in the Crock Pot

Stuffed Green Peppers in the Crock Pot

Since Craig and I got married, I definitely became an intense sale shopper.  Every week, I pull up the Publix and Bi-Lo weekly ads, compare prices, and make a shopping list for each store based on the best sales.  A lot of times, the best deal means buying more of an item, like “value-packs” of meat.  This isn’t a problem for me, except with the ground beef.  I never take the time to separate the ground beef before I freeze it, because I really like dealing with raw meat as few times as possible.  I’d rather just cook all the meat up at once and plan to eat ground beef more frequently that week than having to touch the raw meat in order to separate it and THEN touch it again for each of the meals that I’m making.  It may seem lazy, but it’s really because I’m so paranoid about having the kitchen completely sanitized after touching raw meat.  It’s not just about washing my hands.  I have to wash my hands, wipe down the counters, then go back and use Lysol wipes on the counters and anything on them, and then I scrub and use Lysol wipes on the trashcan, its lid, and the sink.  And I generally like to do this before I move on to preparing any other part of the meal if possible.  It takes a surprising amount of time when were in the middle of trying to prepare dinner.  I’m sure my paranoia has to do with all the research I did and documentaries I watched as a health major, so I guess I can thank my Furman Professors for making me like this.

So since I made taco salads for Craig and myself last Saturday, I had to decide what I was going to do with the rest of the ground beef. At first I thought about making one of our typical week-night dishes, like dirty rice, but then I remembered this recipe!  I had been wanting to try stuffed green peppers in the crock pot for quite some time, so I was excited to finally give it a try.  I browned all the meat on Saturday, and then separated it into to halves.  I seasoned the first half for taco salads that day, and then I saved the second half for this recipe on Sunday.

This recipe was incredibly easy, and I was quite happy with how it turned out.  Craig really loved it, which made me even more ecstatic!

Recipe From: Crockin’ Girls

Ingredients

  • 4-6 Green Peppers, tops removed and seeded
  • 1 lb of ground beef
  • 1/3 cup of raw (uncooked) rice
  • 2/3 cups of water
  • 1/2 cup of onion, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp of salt + a little bit for lightly salting
  • 1/2 tsp of pepper
  • 1/4 tsp of garlic powder
  • 1/4 cup ketchup
  • 3 carrots, cut into pieces
  • another 1/2 cup water
  • another 1 cup of ketchup

Directions:

Brown or partially brown the meat (mainly so that you can drain it of the grease).  Wash the green peppers and drain well.  Lightly salt the cavity of the green peppers.  In a medium bowl, combine ground beef, rice, 2/3 cups of water, onion, salt, pepper, garlic powder, and 1/4 cup of ketchup.  Mix well.  Stuff the green peppers about 2/3 of the way full with the ground beef mixture. Arrange the green peppers in the crock pot, using the carrot pieces to help support and secure the pieces.*  You may stack the green peppers if you need to.  Mix together 1 cup of ketchup with 1/2 cup of water, and pour over the green peppers and carrots.  Cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours or high for 3 hours.

The top left was when I first put the green peppers in the crock pot and covered them with the ketchup/water mixture. The top right was after about 6 hrs of cooking on low. The bottom is obviously one of the delicious stuffed green peppers after I removed them from the crock pot. Yum!

*I actually did not need to use the carrot pieces to support my green peppers, as the green peppers fit in the crock pot just right and stood up without any problem.  However, since I had already peeled and cut the carrots up, anyway, I placed them around the green peppers in the crock pot to have as part of my meal.

This is another fabulously easy and delicious meal!  What we didn’t eat for dinner Sunday night, I had for lunch throughout the week!  Oh, how I love leftovers!

Happy pepper stuffin’!

Leave a Reply

