RSS Feed

“Save Some For Me” Guacamole

“Save Some For Me” Guacamole

I couldn’t decide what to title this post, because just calling it “Guacamole” seemed lame.  I thought about calling it “Game Day Guacamole,” because it is great to have when a bunch of people are together watching a football game.  I thought about calling it “Fiesta Guacamole” because no fiesta is complete without having guacamole present.  I thought about calling it “Summer Cookout Guacamole” because it is always one of the first things eaten up at our summer cookouts.  I thought about just calling it “Taco Night Guacamole” because it is an obvious great addition to any family taco night.

Really, I just felt torn.  I didn’t want some naive person to see my “Game Day Guacamole” while trying to prepare for a summer cookout, and then move on without giving it a chance.  I didn’t want some poor soul who was preparing for a football party to see my “Fiesta Guacamole” post and think that this recipe wasn’t for them.  There were just so many things that could go wrong…too many things at risk.  What in the world could I call this guacamole that would actually apply to every possible scenario where it would be served and eaten?

As Craig snacked on guacamole and chips, with med school papers in front of him and the Gamecocks football game on in the background, I continued to prepare the rest of our taco salad dinner.  My mind wandered from the title of this post to the football game to the cleaning I needed to do around our place back to watching Craig eat up the guacamole.  I hope he makes sure to save some for me, I thought.  I made a lot this time, so I should be good.  I continued to think back to the countless times in my family that someone missed out on getting guacamole because they were in the other room…or maybe they were watching something on t.v….or maybe they accidentally fell asleep (that is a BIG NO-NO in the Warner family if you don’t want to miss out on good food)…or maybe they just looked away for a moment.

It’s not that a I grew up in selfish family or anything.  We definitely don’t mind sharing.  We just love guacamole, and we really love this guacamole.  You just eat it up without even thinking and before you know it, it’s all gone.

Yep, “Save Some For Me” Guacamole really does summarize this easy recipe extraordinarily well.

Before you go on to read these ingredients, please know that they are estimates.  I wasn’t even going to list amounts of each ingredient, but I know that some people out there may have an anxiety attack reading an entire recipe with no amounts listed.  I have never actually measured this out.  Everything is really to taste, and that’s how I encourage you to make this.  You can use these amounts as guidelines, and then play around with the guacamole until it most suits your taste!

Ingredients:

  • 4-6 ripe Hass avocados
  • 1/2-1tsp salt, or to taste
    • Kosher is definitely best, but regular salt will work also!
  • 1/4 cup fresh, chopped cilantro
  • 1/2-1 jalapeño, diced up (optional)
    • Don’t include a lot of the seeds unless you really like hot stuff!
  • 1/3-1/2 of a lime’s juice
  • 1/2-3/4 onion, chopped
  • 1/2-1  large tomato or 1-2 roma tomatoes, chopped
  • 1-2 cloves minced garlic

Directions

Remove each avocado from its peel and pit.  If you are unsure how to do this, or you are just curious how I do this, click here!  Once you have removed all the avocados, you are welcome to go ahead and cut them into to chunks to give yourself a head start if you would like, or you can just toss the avocado halves into a bowl.  Use a fork or spoon to start mixing the avocados, using the edge to cut through bigger pieces into smaller chunks.  Once it is just barely starting to look like guacamole (your goal is to still maintain some avocado texture through the end of this), go ahead and add the other ingredients, mixing each one in at a time.  The order does not matter much, except that you definitely want the tomato pieces to be the very last thing you add.  Otherwise, they will just get mushed and make everything else soggy.

That’s it!  Wow, how easy is that?!  Now you can go enjoy your football game, your fiesta, your summer cookout, your taco night, you whatever!  Just make sure you get some of that guacamole before it’s all gone!

Leave a Reply

