RSS Feed

How to Open an Avocado

Opening an avocado is actually really easy.  My dad taught me how to do it years and years ago, probably when I was early in high school.  I really never even knew that some people had trouble with it until I was older and saw friends actually attempt to open an avocado.  You know when you are watching somebody struggle through something relatively simple, and you are aching to say, “Just let me show you how to do it.”  Yeah, that’s how I frequently feel watching people open avocados.  (In my defense, I really only get that way when I’m watching people struggle their way through opening or cutting something in the kitchen, because I’m paranoid about people slipping with a knife and cutting themselves.)

Directions:

  1. Cut the avocado lengthwise around the pit, making two halves (one of which will still have the pit).
  2. Put the edge of your knife into the pit, and you can generally pop it right out.
  3. Use a spoon to scoop each half of the avocado out of its peel.
  4. You’re done!  Now slice it, cut it into small pieces, or do whatever you want to enjoy your easily-opened avocado!  You can even do a happy dance if you would like!  😉

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: “Save Some For Me” Guacamole « McKinney Living

  2. Pingback: “Save Some For Me” Guacamole « McKinney Living

Leave a Reply

