RSS Feed

Easy Weekend Monkey Bread

Easy Monkey BreadDear Reader,

I promise I do care about health and I do not live on sugar alone.  That being said, I am about to offer the fourth sweet treat I made over Labor Day Weekend for my family.  Please know that the perpetual sugar high of this past weekend did end eventually – just not before I made this tasty breakfast for my family.

Love and Calories,

Ok, now that I got that out of the way, this is the breakfast I made for my family on Sunday morning.  My mom made something similar to this for my brothers and me growing up when we would have friends sleepover.  We always loved it!  I found this version of classic monkey bread on the Pillsbury website.  I love that this version has the oozing caramel-type topping on top that is complimented by the perfectly soft and cinnamon-y biscuit pieces on the inside.

Recipe

  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 of the large (about 16oz) cans or a 4-pack of the small (about 8oz) cans of buttermilk biscuits
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup butter or margarine, melted
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts or pecans (optional)
  • 1/2 cup raisins (optional)

Directions:

In a bowl, mix the granulated sugar and cinnamon.  Open up all your packages of biscuits, and cut each biscuit into quarters.  Rolls the biscuit pieces in the cinnamon and sugar mixture, and the arrange them in a lightly greased 12oz bundt pan, adding the nuts and/or raisins if you are using them.  (While I think I would have also enjoyed this with nuts and raisins, I did not use any because I was serving to a lot of people with varying tastes and pickiness levels, and I knew this was plenty delicious already.)  In a small bowl, mix the brown sugar and butter/margarine together, then pour over the biscuit pieces.  Bake for 28 to 32 minutes* at 350 or until golden brown on the outside and no longer doughy on the inside.  Let it cool for 5-10 minutes before flipping the monkey bread upside down onto a serving plate.  Serve warm, and enjoy!

*For whatever reason, this generally takes me closer to 32-35 minutes before the delectable breakfast is truly done.

Easy Monkey Bread

Leave a Reply

