RSS Feed

Simply Delicious Peach Pie

Simply Delicious Peach Pie

Padre’s birthday is August 31, so we got to celebrate his 49th birthday when my family came down to visit Craig and me over Labor Day Weekend.  So fun!  It was the first time our whole family was together for my dad’s birthday in a long time (probably since Michael, my older brother, was a high school senior, so that would be eight years) so it was extra exciting and special to get to spend it together.  Since I can remember, my dad has always requested that my mom bake a peach pie for his birthday, so I of course had to carry that tradition on.  It was a bonus because Craig is all about desserts that are chocolate, chocolate and peanut butter, or chocolate and mint.  I like chocolate, but I also love fruit-centered pies and cobblers, so it was nice to have an excuse to make a non-chocolate dessert!

We had a big day at the beach on Saturday and we were all ready for some afternoon naps when we got home.  Once we ate some lunch and regained some energy, we set out for dinner and dessert ingredients that we needed and got to work.  Michael worked on a low-country boil, while my dad did a beef tenderloin, and I worked on the desserts.  While I may try to be more creative with my pie-baking in the future (maybe by making my own crust or adding some sort of topping), it just was not going to happen this weekend.  Too much chaos and too many other things going on in our little kitchen at once.  Still, the pie was absolutely splendid, and we ate it right up!

I couldn’t find the recipe online that my mom has used in the past, so I just glanced through a few different versions and then made it my own.  I basically made this as simple as a pie recipe could possibly get, but it was still completely mouth-wateringly delicious!

Recipe:

  • pie crust pastry for a double crust, 9in pie
  • 6-8 peaches, peeled and sliced (about 5 cups)
  • 1 1/4 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Directions:

Mix the flour, sugar, and cinnamon together in a bowl.  Combine this mixture with the sliced and peeled peaches in a large bowl and mix together.  Mix until all the peaches are evenly and well-coated with the mixture.  In a 9in pie pan, fit one of the crusts along the bottom and up the sides.  You want to stretch it gently to make sure the whole pan is covered, but be careful not to leave any torn spots in the crust.  Spoon the peach mixture into the pie pan, and cover with the top crust, again stretching the crust to reach but not breaking it.  (I ended up having more peach slices than I needed, so I pulled some out before adding the top crust, and I got to have that on top of a waffle in the morning.  Delicious!)  Seal the pie crust edges together, cut a few slits in the top of the crust, and wrap foil around the edges.  Bake at 450 for 25 minutes, remove the foil, and then continue to bake for an additional 15 minutes.  The end result will be absolutely delightful!

Enjoy your slice of pie with a scoop of ice cream, a glass of milk, or however you wish.  I grew up enjoying a slice of hot pie in a bowl with milk poured right over it.  Yum!  Yum!  Yum!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Lemon-Zucchini Loaf with a Lemon Glaze | McKinney Living

Leave a Reply

