RSS Feed

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Chocolate Chip Cookies

I hope everyone had a splendid Labor Day Weekend!  Labor Day Weekend at the McKinney home was crazy hectic, but it was unbelievably amazing!  My family came to visit us, which is basically my favorite thing in the world.  Happy chaos is setting a new record for how many people and animals can actually sleep in our two-bedroom condo at once.  We had eight people and two dogs total!  Yep, it took our queen bed, the full bed in the guest room, our queen Aerobed, a twin air mattress, and our couch, but we managed just fine for the three nights, and we had a wonderful weekend together!

My dad’s 49th birthday was the Friday that everyone got into town, but we weren’t celebrating until Saturday since everybody left after work to head here and arrived between 9:30pm and 1:30am.  I was planning on making our family tradition of peach pie for Padre’s birthday, as well as a chocolate cake recipe that I had gotten from my mother-in-law that I knew Padre liked.  However, a couple of hours before my parents got here (they were the first to arrive), Padre informed me that since his birthday was actually that day, he would be willing to accept some chocolate chip cookies upon arrival.  I knew that Padre loved chocolate chip cookies, so I had thankfully already double-checked to make sure I had all the ingredients.  I wanted to make them that night but wasn’t sure whether it would get postponed because of all the cleaning Craig and I were scrambling to do before they got here.  I obviously decided at that point that I was going to fit the chocolate chip cookies into my schedule for the evening.  Padre asked if I was going to be making Toll House cookies, but I informed him that I would actually be making McKinney House cookies…the kind from scratch so that Craig could eat them.

Confession: “McKinney House” cookies are actually the recipe for “Extraordinary Chocolate Chip Cookies” that I found on the Betty Crocker Recipes’ Photostream page on Flickr.  😉

Recipe

  • 1 1/2 cups butter or margarine, softened
  • 1 1/4 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 1/4 cups packed brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 24oz bag (or 2 12oz bags) of semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions

Preheat oven to 350.  In a large bowl, beat butter/margarine, sugars, vanilla, and eggs until light and fluffy.  Stir in flour, baking soda, and salt.  Stir in the chocolate chips last.  Drop dough by the tablespoon onto an ungreased cookie sheet, about two inches apart and slightly flattened.  Bake 10-13 minutes or until light brown.  Pull the cookies out of the oven and let them cool for 1-2 minutes before moving to a cooling rack for the remainder of their cooling.  Finally, ENJOY!

Also, one important note is that I halved the recipe, and I still had close to three dozen cookies, so that’s definitely something to consider when you are deciding whether to use the whole recipe or not!

Happy cookie baking!  🙂

Leave a Reply

