RSS Feed

Cinnamon Roll Cake

Posted on

I’m not really sure why, but rainy days always seem to put this urge inside of me to bake.  I don’t mean like the “through eggs, oil, and brownie mix in a pan and stick it in the oven” type of baking.  I mean the “let’s make something from scratch” type of baking.

Well, I’d say that yesterday definitely counted as a rainy day.  While the intensity of the rain changed throughout the day from a drizzle to a steady rain to a storm back to a drizzle and so on, it was definitely raining in some form for the entire day.

This is a picture of the Market downtown that someone sent to our local news channel. I also watched a video of somebody wakeboarding down the street. Crazy!

So I definitely was in a baking mood yesterday, but there were a couple of problems.  The first was that I still had work yesterday…I’ve found that a downside to working from home is that you can’t claim bad weather and the commute to be reasons for not getting your work done.  😉  The second problem was that I was out of yeast, so even if I had time to bake some homemade bread or rolls, I was still missing an essential component.

My solution was to try out this recipe.  I adapted it from Cookin’ Up North, and I was so excited to try it out!  With the taste and smell of freshly baked cinnamon rolls and the texture and density of a made-from-scratch cake, how could I possibly go wrong?  Well, I couldn’t.  It was absolutely delicious!

Recipe

Cake

  • 3 c. flour
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 c. sugar
  • 4 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 1/2 c. milk
    • I used vanilla soy milk.
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 c. butter, melted
    • I used a combination Fleischmann’s Unsalted Margarine and Blue Bonnet Light Margarine.

Topping

  • 1 c. butter, softened (My first thought was Wow, that’s a ton of butter! Then again, this is a cake, so I don’t know what I was expecting…)
    • Again, I used Fleischmann’s Unsalted Margarine and Blue Bonnet Light Margarine.
  • 1 c. brown sugar
  • 2 Tbsp. flour
  • 1 Tbsp. cinnamon

Glaze

  • 2 c. powdered sugar
  • 5 Tbsp. milk
    • Again, I used vanilla soy milk
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp. salt

Directions

Mix all of the cake ingredients together except for the butter.  Then, slowly stir in the melted butter.  Pour the batter into a greased 9x13in pan.  Mix all of the topping ingredients together until they are very well blended.  Drop the topping by small spoonfuls evening over the batter, then swirl it with a knife.  Bake at 350 for 28-34 minutes.  Mix the glaze ingredients together.  After you have completed the baking time, but while the cake is still warm, drizzle the gaze over the cake.

A piece of delicious cinnamon roll cake! Yum!

This cake gave me the satisfaction of baking something from scratch, and yet it was quite easy to make and didn’t take long at all.  It’s definitely something you could throw together at the last minute is you need to bring a dessert for something, because you will likely already have all the ingredients you need.  I also think it’d make a great dessert for a brunch event, like a bridal or baby shower or something.  Delicious!

One response »

  1. that’s a lot of rain! and the cake looks yummy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

