RSS Feed

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Chili

I was so excited to see that bread bowls were on sale at Publix last week.  I didn’t even know you could get them outside of restaurants!  To celebrate, I decided I needed to make some sort of new soup.  Unfortunately, I am sometimes bad about letting things bubble up to the point of overflowing on the stove because I’m not standing there watching it and stirring the whole time.  The slow cooker is a great solution.  I was able to throw the stuff in and move on with my day, cleaning around our apartment and trying to check things off of my to-do list.

I found this recipe on the Crockin’ Girls website.  Craig and I both thought it turned out really well.  It was super easy to make, had a great consistency, and had just the right level of spiciness.  Cutting up the avocado and throwing that in as we were eating it also added a lot, and Craig told me that adding his (fake) cheese added a lot, as well.  I’m not a huge cheese person, so I didn’t have any cheese one mine, but I imagine that people who like cheese would thoroughly enjoy some cheddar cheese sprinkled on top to melt.

1 can diced tomatoes
2 cans Rotel tomatoes
1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
1 can kidney beans (I used pinto beans b/c that’s what we had.), rinsed and drained
1 can hominy or 1 can whole kernel corn (I used the whole kernel corn.)
1 package taco seasoning
1/2 tsp ground cumin
1 med onion, chopped
1 lb boneless skinless chicken breast, about 2-3 breasts (I used 2 and that was plenty.)

Put everything except the chicken into the slow cooker and stir it all together very well.  Then, just place the uncooked chicken breasts on top.  It’s so easy!  The directions said to cook everything on high for 8 hours, then take the chicken out and shred it, mix the chicken back in, and then let everything cook for 30 more minutes.  Craig and I were hungry, so I pulled the chicken out at 7 1/2 hrs, shredded it and mixed it back in, and then I just let it cook for about 5 more minutes.  Honestly, we could have done it even sooner.  I think the chicken would have been a little dry if we’d let everything cook the full amount of time, but I don’t really know.  The point is, this was easy and delicious!

The finished product! Delicious, and the perfect meal for watching South Carolina beat Tennessee tonight!

Leave a Reply

