RSS Feed

Celebrating October

I’ve always loved the month of October.  Fall is my favorite season, and (before I moved to Charleston) October has always been the first month when the temperature seems to have begun a long-term decline and the leaves begin to look different.  My love for the holiday season also influences my love for October, because, as my theory goes:

  • The beginning of October means it’s almost Halloween.
  • Halloween means it’s almost the holiday season.
  • The holiday season means it’s almost Christmas.

In recent years, however, October has become important to me for more substantial reasons.  It was on October 10th that Craig took me on my last first date just two years ago, and it was on October 21st of last year that he got down on one knee to ask me to spend the rest of my life with him.

So, as we just celebrated the anniversary of our first date a week ago, we celebrate four amazing months of marriage tomorrow, and we celebrate one year since I told Craig “Yes!” this weekend, I decided that October must also be a good time for another new beginning: our blog.

In John 4, Jesus tells the Samaritan woman about the living water that comes from God.  He explains:

13Everyone who drinks this water [from the well] will be thirsty again, 14but whoever drinks the water I give him will never thirst.  Indeed, the water I give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.

In John 15:12-13 Jesus tells his disciples:

12My command to you is this: Love each other as I have loved you.  13Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends.

I titled this blog “McKinney Living” because I like that it implies an ongoing process.  Craig and I each had a life of our own, but now we have made a commitment to die every day for each other that we may know what it means to be truly living.  We are by no means perfect, but we continue to learn more every day what it means for two to become one.

So, here it goes!  A blog full of random thoughts, dairy free recipes, probably some (inappropriate) med school jokes, and more!  Enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. Hehe I love that Mr. WordPress comment is above mine 😉

    Yay I’m glad you have a blog! So excited to follow… putting it into my Google Reader now!

    Reply
  2. I just happened upon this! Why didn’t you tell me you were blogging? Love it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

